St. Timothy’s Anglican Church, Sango-Ota, Ogun State came into existence on the 22nd of January, 1967 as a satellite church of St. James’ Anglican Church, Ipate Oyinbo, Ota (the only Anglican Church in the whole of Ota at that time).

The Church was established in Sango-Ota axis as a relief to the members of the Anglican Communion living in the area who often complained of the distance they had to trek to St. James’ Anglican Church, Ipate-Oyinbo, Ota.

Having discovered that if urgent actions were not taken to establish a satellite Anglican Church in Sango-Ota the Anglican Communion in Ota might lose members in the fast developing area to other churches around. The vicar of St. James’ Anglican Church, Ota, Reverend James Adeyemi Ojo, who most of his parishioners knew as Jas Ade Ojo, held a meeting with the communion members from Sango-Ota led by late Isaac Oni Ugbevah who later became the church’s first Baba Ijo where a decision was taken to have the Sango-Ota branch of the Anglican Church.

Rev. Ojo (an Ogoni from Kogi  State who later retired from service as an Archdeacon in February 1992) worked tirelessly to ensure the success of the Sango-Ota proposed church project and he was ably assisted by  early church members such as late Pa. Isaac  Oni Ugbevah, his younger brother, late Pa. James Ugbevah, Mr. J. S. Olorunyomi (the headmaster of the then Anglican Modern School, Ota which  was later upgraded to a Secondary School), Mr. G. Ade Talabi (an Inspector of Education), Mrs. Alice Aina (the first Iya Ijo), Mrs. Akinwalere, and later Chief Moses Oyebande Sorinola and late Mr. David Babalola.

History was made on the 22nd January, 1967 when the first service of the new Sango Anglican Church was held at Ota District Council Primary School, Sango-Ota with Revd. Adeyemi Ojo officiating record has it that attendance at the first service which included invitees from St. James’ Anglican Church, Ota (the mother church) was one hundred and three (103) and ₤2.7$ was collected as offering. The theme of the sermon was taken from the book of Zechariah, chapter 4, verse 10.

However, subsequent services were later shifted to Pa. Isaac Oni Ogbevah’s house in Sango-Ota due to the objection of the District School Authority to the use of the school.

When members were thrown out of ODC School, they informed the late Olota, His Royal Highness, and Oba Timothy T. Dada who gave the members the present site of the church free of charge. Thereafter, the church gladly named the new church after him, hence St. Timothy’s.

Work on the new site commenced in earnest. The Vicar (Rev. Ojo), his wife, a host of St. James’ members and students from the then Anglican Modern School joined their Sango brethren in clearing the site. A temporary structure with planks as wall and iron sheets as roof was quickly put in place. A Building Committee made up of the Olota as the Chairman had earlier been formed with Mr. J. S. Olorunyomi as the Secretary while late Mr. M. O. Sorinola was the Treasurer.

While Rev. Ojo attended services occasionally, the spiritual management of the church at the local level was handled by a few members including Mr. (later Chief) M. O. Sorinola, Mr. Akindayisi, Mr. Gabriel Oni etc.

Sunday worship continued under temporary shed for two years and on February 1, 1969 the foundation stone of the church was jointly laid by Bishop S. I. Kale and His Royal Highness Late Oba T. T. Dada, the Olota of Ota.

Immediately after the formal foundation laying of the church, Mr. E. Ola Adeogun (formerly of Ebnezer African Church, Sango-Ota) took over the conduct of services until 1st of February, 1986 when an Anglican Clergy in the person of Rev. M. O. Tanimowo was posted to the Church as the first Vicar. During this period, Chief M. O. Sorinola and Chief (Mrs.) A. A. Popoola became the Baba Ijo and Iya Ijo respectively.


In 1988, Rev. M. O. Tanimowo (who put the church on its foot even as a Non Stipendiary Priest) was transferred and he was succeeded by Rev. C. O. Ayejoto (now Archdeacon) during whose tenure the church attained parish status and registered for the conduct of wedding services. Still basking in  the euphoria of the attainment of the parish status, Ven. J. J. Ogunmilade, the then Archdeacon of Agege Archdeaconry, on behalf of the Diocesan, The Most Rev. Dr. J. A. Adetiloye, laid the  foundation of the new church building at 10.00am on the 15th of December, 1994.

Revd. C. O. Ayejoto handed over to Revd. J. Akin Atere (now Bishop of the Diocese of Awori) during whose tenure the controversy as to whether to use Steel or Iron Rod was resolved. The proper commencement of the New Church building happened almost immediately. The enthusiasm was high; there was a sincere willingness on the part of individual members. Revd. J. Akin Atere was transferred to St. Andrews, Ipaja in the year 1998, Revd. A. O. Adefoluke (now Revd.  Canon) took over from him, during his tenure the New building was completed, we have to appreciate very sincerely the work done by this man of God, this was achieved by the grace of God upon his life.  He is a sincere man of God, very humble, prayerful, dedicated and contented; this church will ever remember Revd. Canon & Mrs. A. O. Adefoluke for the landmark achievement made under his leadership and of course with the assistance of members who were also committed. Rev’d E. O. Akeredolu-Oso assumed the leadership of the church in August 2003; He arranged the dedication service of the new church.